Moscow is famous for its architectural heritage, including Kremlin with its the Armoury Chamber that has a fantastic collection of state regalia and coronation garments, the Tretiakov Gallery with the largest collection of Russian art and ancient Russian icons, Christ the Savior Cathedral as well as Seven Sister-Buildings, Moscow Metro system containing 196 unique palace-like stations. There are over a hundred museums, There are variety of theaters, art galleries, over a hundred museums in the city. Please find below the information of some of them.
We will be happy to tailor-make the itinerary for you depending on your interest!

Red Square is the heart not only of Moscow, but of the whole Russia. Originally a commercial centre, Red Square has been at the very centre of Russian history since the 15th century, from Ivan the Terrible’s confession of his misdeeds to the people in 1550, to great demonstrations, executions and the great parades of the Soviet Union’s military might. Ironically, krasny originally meant beautiful and only came to mean red in the last century. From the time of Ivan the Great the square was used as a huge gathering place for public events, markets, fairs and festivals. Encompassing an area of over 70,000 sq metres it is bounded by the Kremlin, the Historical museum and GUM department store, the shopping arcade, that was completed in 1893. At the southern end is the almost fairy-tale like building of St Basil’s cathedral which was commissioned in 1552 by Ivan the Terrible to celebrate his conquering of Kazan. In the morning after breakfast, guests will have an opportunity to visit the Kremlin prior to the official opening time.

You might be surprised how many ancient and magnificent structures one can see within the walls of the Kremlin: 15th century cathedrals (the coronation, wedding and burial place of early Russian rulers), the bell-tower, the Patriarch’s Palace, the Grand Kremlin Palace and of course the richest museum – the Armoury. The Armoury has a fascinating collection of Imperial insignia including precious clothes (some of which are currently on show at the Victoria and Albert museum in London), ceremonial harness and a unique collection of carriages. You can see the 17th century throne of Alexei Romanov covered with a mosaic of turquoises and 900 diamonds, a phelonion of Metropolitan Platon decorated with 150,000 pearls (it took the embroiderer 2 years to complete) and of course the famous Faberge eggs. You will also visit two of the 15th century cathedrals. Diamond Fund possesses unique collection of diamonds, among them – “Orlov Diamond” (186.62 carats), found in the 17th century in India, bought then by Count Orlov and presented to Catherine the Great.

Almost fairy-tale like building of St Basil’s cathedral is located right in the Heart of Moscow, on Rec Square. It was commissioned in 1552 by Ivan the Terrible to celebrate his conquering of Kazan; legend has it that the architect was later blinded so that he could never repeat such a building that is so traditionally Russian. It is built of brick and comprises many colourful asymmetrical helmet & onion domes situated over nine chapels; the interior is full of 16th and 17th century icons, frescoes and ceiling paintings of subtle blues and pinks. Divided into smaller groups the guests have a tour of the square, promenade in GUM and visit privately Saint Basil’s cathedral.

The Tretyakov gallery is a unique museum where one can have a perfect chance to get acquainted with the best samples of the Russian art. The gallery was founded by Moscow Merchant PavelTretyakov, who began collecting the finest works of Russian artists in 1856. In August, 1892 Tretyakov presented the collection and the Gallery to the city of Moscow. The Tretyakov gallery reopened in 1995 after a nine-year renovation. In The gallery you will see the world’s best collection of Russian icons, as well as a fantastic collection of other pre-Revolutionary Russian art.

The Museum has been created as an educational and public institution where the most important periods of art history from the ancient times to the New Age are represented. The Museum became the first institution of this type in Russia. Opened on May 31, 1912, it was named The State Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts in 1937, in honour of Alexander Pushkin, one of the greatest Russian poets. Presently the Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts contains over 560 thousand pieces of paintings, sculptures, drawings, applied art works, archeological and numismatics items. In Pushkin museum you can find one of the best world collection of French impressionists: (Monee, Picasso, Renoir, Matisse, Gogen); Ancient Egyptian works of art, antique pieces, European paintings of the 8th-18th centuries, Ancient Greece, Rome, Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

The convent, with its churches and graves, is one of the most peaceful places to escape to on a nice day in Moscow. The red and white crenulated walls and golden domes of Novodevichy Convent make it one of Moscow's most beautiful monasteries. Novodevichy was founded by Vasily III in 1524. The convent is rather like the Kremlin in miniature. Many wives and widows of Russian tsars entered the convent and handed over all their jewels, pearls, gold and silver. The cemetery, adjacent to the convent, is awash with the graves of many famous people such as Chekhov, Gogol, Bulgakov, Mayakovsky, Eisenstein, Shostakovich, Scriabin, Khrushchev, Molotov, Gromyko, and Stalin's wife, among others.

The Central museum of Armed Forces is one of the world greatest places to see military history. It was founded in 1919. There are 24 rooms showing the history of the Russian Army and Navy from the beginning of the 18th century until today. The collection includes over 800.000 military and historical objects. An outdoor display with 200 samples of weapons and battle vehicles (armoured train of 1918-1920), T-34, JS-2 tanks, BM-13 "Katusha" rocket launcher (1941-1945), modern artillery, rockets and missiles, T-80 tank, S-300 antiaircraft launcher, SU-24 supersonic bomber, MIG-29 and SU-27 fighters, Soviet and American SS-20 and Pershing-2 missiles, armored vehicles and others.. “Stalin’s Bunker” is a branch of Central museum of Armed Force.

The Cold War Museum is based in the former top-secret Soviet command post, N42, known more simply as GO-42. Thank to "Perestroika", you now have the opportunity to visit one of the Soviet Union’s "underground command posts". The role of this bunker included acting as the federal telephone/ telegraph communication centre, the HQ for the Soviet leadership and the Ministry of Communications, as well as the Moscow area anti-aircraft defence communications centre. In a global nuclear war, this communication centre would have been one of the main command posts of the Soviet Government. On arrival the guests are dressed as Soviet army officers and are taught to assemble/dissemble Kalashnikov and special passes are issued to participants. The tour itself travels 60m below ground and you will visit all the halls and the Duty officer rooms. Museum exhibits include the military communication devices of the soviet era and you will watch a 15 minute film about the ‘Cold War’ between NATO and USSR and explore the 7,000 sq m of this unique underground complex. A welcome cocktail can also be served.

The musem was opened on November 20, 1921. It is located in the estate where Leo Tolstoy and his family had spent 19 winters between 1882 and 1901. Every piece of furniture and interior decoration of the house is authentic (more than 4,500 items).

Then you’ll continue by your car to a very interesting place, called “VDNKH” called now “VVTS” – All Russia Exhibition centre. Once known as the Exhibition of the People's Economic Achievements, this vast exhibition ground was established in the time of Stalin to showcase the achievements of communism. History of “Russia's Main Exhibition” began from request of the 2nd All-Union Congress of Collective Shock-Farmers to the central bodies of the Communist party and government to organize in Moscow the All-Union Exhibition of Agriculture. The request was satisfied, and the Head Exhibition Committee was formed in 1939, at the time of Stalin’s regime. The All-Union Exhibition of Agriculture has become an original contribution into the capital’s city architecture. An exhibition city that had sprung to life near its northern border on a 136 ha area included ponds, parks, experimental plots, 250 constructions of all kinds. The alleys of the complex is famous place for roller-skaters.
Each pavilion was distinguished for its own original features based on use in construction of the national motives. Today it’s also used for different exhibitions, some of them – as shops or trading centres.

Danilovsky monastery was the first monastery to be founded in Moscow and the first one to be reopened after the collapse of the Soviet Union. This ancient monastery was founded in 1282 by Grand Prince Daniil of Moscow, who became the honoured saint later on. It is the residence of the Patriarch since 1982.

The Cathedral was designed by the great architect Konstantin Ton, who was also responsible for the Grand Kremlin Palace and the Kremlin Armoury and whose church designs pioneered the Byzantine-revival style, the cathedral was erected, for maximum effect, on the embankment only a few minutes' walk from the Kremlin. The cathedral was consecrated on the day Alexander III was crowned, May 26, 1883. In 48 years after its opening, in 1931 according to the personal order of V.Stalin St. Savior Cathedral was fully destroyed. Later a big open-air swimming pool was built on its place. In 1994 according to the initiative of the Moscow Mayor Yury Luzhkov, the new construction of the St. Savior cathedral started and it was finished in 1997, by the 850th anniversary of Moscow. It was fully rebuilt according to the old drawings of the destroyed cathedral. Nowadays the visitors can fully enjoy not only the breathtaking view of the of the Cathedral but as well the marvelous view of Moscow from the 40 meter high observation platform.

St. Andronicus Monastery of the Savior founded in the beginning of the 15th century by Andronicus, who was the follower of Sergey Radonezhsky, the monastery for many centuries played an important role in the religious life of the country. In the early 15th century Andrei Rublev became a monk of St. Andronicus Monastery. There he created a plenty of splendid icons and painted the walls and vaults of the Savior Cathedral that is nowadays one of the oldest monuments of Moscow stone architecture. In St. Andronicus Monastery of the Savior Andrei Rublev spent the last years of his life and in 1430 was buried on the monastery territory. The opening of the Museum took place in 1960. Nowadays the Museum is proud of its rich collection that features icons of the 14-19th centuries including works of Moscow, Novgorod, Tver and North Russian icon schools.

The Poklonnaya Mountain was first mentioned in chronicles of the 16th century. It was on Poklonnaya Mountain that Napoleon was vainly waiting for the keys to Moscow. During World War II the solders passed by the Poklonnaya Mountain leaving for the front to defend Russia. In 1942 it was suggested to put a memorial on the Poklonnaya Mountain, but during that time it was absolutely impossible because of the war. Its solemn opening was dated for the 50th Victory celebration that took place on the 9th of May, 1995. The memorial complex includes the Central Museum of Great Patriotic war, the Victory Monument, and three temples of three religions constructed in memory of those who died during the war. Saint George temple was constructed in 1995, the Memorial Mosque was put up in 1997, and the Memorial Synagogue was erected in 1998.

To have a rest from the city’s buzz we offer you the tour to Kolomenskoye museum-preserve. Kolomenskoye is a beautiful royal country estate on the bend of Moskva river. The guests enjoy a walk in century-old oak-trees grove, visit small but interesting museums containing Russian wood-carving and tiles, the beautiful Kazan Church (1649), see the stunning Church of Ascention – built by Tzar Vasily III to celebrate the birth of Ivan the Terrible, the first stone tent-roofed church in Russia. Of interest is Peter the Great’s wooden cabin, where one can compare his height and a hand’s size with those of the emperor with the help of special notches inside the cabin, made once by Peter. Being very tall (over 2 meters), he is known to have had surprisingly small feet and hands.

In 1919 Kuskovo Estate used to be the summer residence of Sheremetyev Counts. The architectural ensemble of the estate had been formed by the middle of the 18th century. Magnificent constructions such as the Palace, Grotto, Hermitage, Great stone conservatory, old church, and Italian and Dutch houses survived until nowadays. At Kuskovo there is also a very well preserved French regular park with ponds, pavilions and marble sculptures. In 1919 Kuskovo Estate got the status of the State Museum, and since 1938 it was consolidated with the only Ceramics Museum in Russia.

Architectural and park ensemble of Tsaritsino is a remarkable historical and cultural monument of the 18th-19th centuries. Constructed in the Gothic style, it was intended for the residence of Catherine II. In 1776-1785 grandiose construction works supervised by architect V. Bajenov took place on the territory of the estate. In 1797, in a year after Catherine's death, construction works were stopped. In the 19th century Tsaritsino became the place for folk festivals. The new pavilions were put up. Some of them survived to present day. In 1927 Tsaritsino was turned into a State Historical, Architectural, Artistic and Landscape Museum-Preserve.

The golden age of Ostankino Estate started at the end of the 18th century, when Count N. Sheremetyev, the wealthy patron of art, became its owner. Sheremetyev was very fond of theater. He decided to make Ostankino his summer residence and move the theater troupe from Kuskovo. To realize his idea, Sheremetyev ordered to put up the palace-theater in Ostankino. After the October Revolution the estate was nationalized and turned into museum. Annually Ostankino Museum-Estate becomes the place of Sheremetyev Seasons festival. The goal of the festival is to present old opera masterpieces to modern public.

We offer you the visit to Russian handicraft centre – Izmaylovo, famous for its open air souvenir market. Izmaylovo is one of the oldest part of Moscow, where the second Romanov Tzar Alexey Mikhailovich had his summer residence where his son Peter the Great was brought up. At the present moment the complex occupies the territory of 17 hectares and includes: trade town (with streets of private booth-shops where the clients can see and buy great variety of traditional Russian crafts objects – famous matryoshkas, wood-carving goods, porcelain, glass, birchbark items, Russian Army uniforms, badges, etc.), traditional crafts workshops where once can see the process of creation of handicraft items, “Russian Yard” – a copy of a traditional wooden settlement with wooden churches, houses.



Travel Russia

One of the first private destination management companies in Russia.




Connect with us:
facebooktwitter